I’ve Done It!

I really really have done it! I have made the first… no second? …. thir- you know what we’ll just say I made ANOTHER step toward organizing and decluttering my home. I am very excited because now I can see everything I have in my cabinets. And my counters are mostly cleared off. I still need to get rid of a few things but having taken 5 full trash bags to the curb, I am sure you can imagine my delight.  The most shocking thing is that my kitchen is unbelievably tiny so the fact that I had that many things I could dispose of was really quite mind blowing!

My mind has been stuck in “Home of my own” mode.  I know we’re not there yet. We still have quite a way to go but I am excited and when the time does come I want to be ready.  Since I’ve been working on decluttering the kitchen that is kind of where my mind is today.   About a month ago a friend of mine introduced me to Design-Seeds. It is a website that contains color pallets! It makes it really easy to view colors together and see how they coordinate. Each color in one pallet is pulled from a single photo. Like this:

I really like this color pallet. I do believe this is the one that I shall choose. It feels very warm and welcoming,  I can totally picture myself preparing meals that is painted the first color, that says “Seeds” on it. I really wish they would name their colors.
I would add accents and details based on the other four colors. I.E. curtains, towels, dish rags, ect.

I find both love and amusement in trying to put a room together around a color pallet.

  • Kids cups are important.   I want them to be cute and not very breakable.
  • “Grown up” Glasses are just as important. Personally I find myself feeling less adult-like when I drink from plastic cups
  • Coffee Cups and Saucers are definitely a category of their own. In my house coffee is sacred!
  • Towels and Dish rags
  • Pots and Pans
  • Canisters
  • Pot holders
  • Tableware

What are your necessary kitchen items and accessories? What works for you? What definitely does not work for you? What makes your kitchen welcoming to you?

2 responses

  1. What are my necessary kitchen items? skillets, spatulas, oven mitts, cookie sheets, toaster,microwave, mixing bowls, paring knife, good knives to cut with, spoons. Others would be measuring cups and spoons.

    • Nice! I am working with mismatched kitchen items that people gave us when we first moved in to our current house. I look forward to replacing them with better quality items!

Leave a reply

