A New Hope

Nope I am totally not making a Star Wars refference. Today marks a historical moment. Seriously, this one will go down in history! Ok, perhaps it’s only going down in my personal history book but thats beside the point. I have made the greatest step forward. Wanna know what I did? Yeah, you know you do.  I made chore lists!  Three of them. One for myself and one for each of the older kids. I contemplate picking up some picture frames so that I can use them as “Dry Erase” boards that are not only re-usable but somewhat attractive to look at!
Here’s how I structured my lists:

  • Daily Chores
  • Weekly Chores
  • Monthly Chores

Not too complex right?  I added boxes next to each chore so that they can be marked as completed. That always helps me see how much I have actually accomplished. Otherwise I find myself feeling overwhelmed with the prospect of cleaning a room.  It also makes it easier to visualize a starting point.
The 3yr old can’t read yet  so I am thinking about making a little star chart for her so she can put stickers on it every time she finishes one of her “chores”. I got lucky with her. So far she actually LIKES to clean! Strange right? I know, she’s under survelance. I am not really sure how thats going to develope but so far she is disgusted by her body being dirty at all. She has to wash her hands as soon as they get dirty EVEN if it’s chocolate. (In this case I try to encourage her to lick her fingers clean but she’s not having that at all.) These are definitely behaviors I would like to encourage but not to the point of them being extreme.
For now, I would really like to spend the next couple of days getting a head start on getting the house cleaned up.  That way I can tear it apart again. There’s just something about cleaning a room so you can make it a mess and then make it cleaner than it was when you started. I suppose perhaps I am a little on the strange side also.
If you are interested in viewing my chore lists you can Download Them Here

Leave a reply

